Logan County was established in 1884 and the present county seat is located in Stapleton. Gandy, the other incorporated village within the county, was named the county seat in 1885. It remained so until 1929. Logan County is governed by three elected commissioners from three districts within the county. Commissioners meet the third Wednesday of every month at the Logan County Courthouse.

All courthouse offices are closed over the noon hour.




317 Main Street
P.O. Box 8
Stapleton, NE 69163


Phone: 308-636-2311 

Courthouse Website

Logan County Officials

County Clerk: 
Deb Myers

County Treasurer:
Richard Gewecke

County Sheriff/Emergency Management: 
Sean Carson

County Attorney/Prosecutor: 
Colten Venteicher

County Commissioners: 
Scott Gaites, Chairman
Lee Wonch
Robert Doyle

Clerk Magistrate: 
Brenda Cochran

Veteran's Service Officer, Noxious Weed, Highway Superintendent: 
Richard Cook

NOTE: If viewing Stapleton's website on a mobile device, click the "menu" button in the top left corner to view more information. Be sure to scroll down past the menu choices to see additional page information.